View My Collection of

China International
China Open
Shanghai Masters                  Jiangsu / Wuxi Classic
World Ranking / Invitation Events

Brief History of the Major Snooker Events in China

The first major international tournament in China was the Catch China International in September 1997, an invitation event with a mixture of top sixteen stars and Local Chinese players. The following season it became a full ranking event initially held in March. The following season it changed its name to the China Open and moved to December so there were actually two events in 1999. In 2001/02 it reverted to its March slot in the calendar. There were no ranking tournaments held in the Far East for the next two seasons but the event returned to the schedule in March 2004. As with most of the overseas ranking events it had become common practice for a number of local ‘wild cards’ to be invited to play against some of the qualifiers. By now China had three players on the tour and they were invited to play as wild cards rather than try and qualify in the usual way. Ding Junhui was one of these and he took his opportunity beating Peter Ebdon and Ken Doherty, without conceding a frame, before meeting Stephen Hendry in the final and beating him 9-5. Because he had entered as a wild card he did not get the prize money or ranking points but a new star had arrived.

 In the 2008 China Open, Stephen Maguire made a 147 maximum in the semi finals on his way to taking the title. Even though James Wattana made one in the inaugural, non-ranking, China International, this was the first maximum ever in a ranking event in Asia. Neil Robertson made his first 147 in the 2010 event which Mark Williams won for the third time.

 The huge interest in the game in China brought forward welcome sponsors and in 2007/8 a second ranking event was introduced, the Shanghai Masters which was initially staged at the Shanghai Grand Stage in mid August. In 2009 China had its first finalist in this event when Liang Wenbo lost 105 to Ronnie O'Sullivan.
A World Snooker backed invitation event, the Jiangsu Classic, was introduced in 2008 with eight  top 16 professionals and four Chinese qualifiers played on a round robin basis with two groups plus semi final and final. Early rounds were played in Nanjing with the final in Wuxi City. In its second year there were ten top 16 professionals plus two invited Chinese professionals and then in 2010 it was renamed the Wuxi Classic.
© Chris Turner 2010

Roll of Honour

Season Venue Sponsor Winner Runner Up Score 1st Prize
1997/8* Beijing Catch Steve Davis Jimmy White 7-4 £10,000
1998/99  JC Mandarin Hotel, Shanghai none John Higgins Billy Snaddon 9-3 £42,000
1999/00 JC Mandarin Hotel, Shanghai none Ronnie O'Sullivan Stephen Lee 9-2 £50,000
2000/1 Mission Hills, Shenzan Mission Hills Ronnie O'Sullivan Mark J. Williams 9-3 £50,000
2001/2 Int. Gymnastics Centre, Shanghai none Mark J. Williams Anthony Hamilton 9-8 £50,000
2004/5 Haidian Stadium, Beijing none Ding Junhui Stephen Hendry 9-5 £30,000
2005/6 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Star Dragon Woods Villa Mark J. Williams John Higgins 9-8 £30,000
2006/7 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Honghe Industrial Graeme Dott Jamie Cope 9-5  £35,000
2007/8 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Honghe Industrial Stephen Maguire Shaun Murphy 10-9 £48,000
2008/9 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Bank of Beijing Peter Ebdon John Higgins 10-8 £52,000
2009/10 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Sanyuan Foods Mark J. Williams Ding Junhui 10-6 £55,000
2010/11 Beijing University Student's Gymnasium Bank of Beijing Judd Trump Mark Selby 10-8 £60,000

*Non Ranking

 Maximum Breaks - China International/Open
Final Stages
James Wattana 1997/8* Quarter Final v. Pang Wei Guo
Stephen Maguire 2007/8 Semi Final v. Ryan Day
Neil Robertson 2009/10 Last 16 v. Peter Ebdon
Qualifying Rounds
Mehmet Husnu 1998/9 Qual R1 v. Eddie Barker (Aug '98)

Season Venue Sponsor Winner Runner Up Score 1st Prize
2007/8 Shanghai Grand Stage Roewe Dominic Dale Ryan Day 10-6 £48,000
2008/9 Shanghai Grand Stage Roewe Ricky Walden Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-8 £52,000
2009/10 Shanghai Grand Stage Roewe Ronnie O'Sullivan Liang Wenbo 10-5 £55,000
2010/11 Shanghai Grand Stage Roewe Allister Carter Jamie Burnett 10-7 £60,000
2010/11 Shanghai Grand Stage Bank of Communication Mark Selby Mark J. Williams 10-9 £65,000
Maximum Breaks- Shanghai Masters
Final Stages
Jamie Cope 2008/9 Last 16 v. Mark Williams

JIANGSU / WUXI CLASSIC               Invitation Event
(Jiangsu Classic 2008 & 2009; Wuxi Classic from 2010
Season Venue Sponsor Winner Runner Up Score 1st Prize
2008 Nanjing & Wuxi City Guolian Securities Ding Junhui Mark Selby 6-5 £20,000
2009/ Wuxi City Wuzhou International Group Mark Allen
Ding Junhui
2010 Wuxi City Rundili Shaun Murphy
Ding Junhui
2011 Wuxi City none Mark Selby
Allister Carter

Maximum Breaks- Jiansu / Wuxi Classic
Mark Selby 2009 Group Stage v. Joe Perry

back to top