View My Collection of

Snooker Awards
See also Snooker Hall of Fame

Snooker Writers Association Awards

The Snooker Writers Association vote annually for the Player of the Year, Achievement of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and a Special Award for services to the game. Originally there was a separate Services to Snooker award but now the Special Award covers that category. Down the years there have been awards in various other categories from time to time. My list of the award winners is by no means complete but I am including such information as I have in response to several requests. If anyone can fill in some of the gaps please contact me.

In 2011 World Snooker initiated its own awards
and details of these can be found here.



Snooker Player of the Year

Year Winner
1983 Steve Davis
1984 Steve Davis
1985 Dennis Taylor
1986 Steve Davis & Joe Johnson
1987 Steve Davis
1988 Steve Davis
1989 Steve Davis
1990 Stephen Hendry
1991 Stephen Hendry
1992 Stephen Hendry
1993 Stephen Hendry
1994 Ronnie O'Sullivan
1995 Stephen Hendry
1996 Stephen Hendry
1997 Stephen Hendry
1998 John Higgins
1999 John Higgins
2000 Mark J. Williams
2001 Ronnie O'Sullivan
2002 Peter Ebdon
2003 Mark J. Williams
2004 Ronnie O'Sullivan
2005 Ronnie O'Sullivan
2006 John Higgins
2007 Neil Robertson
2008 Ronnie O'Sullivan

 back to top

Paul Hunter Newcomer of the Year
 This award was renamed in honour of Paul Hunter who died in October 2006.
Year Winner
1989 Martin Clark
1990 Nigel Bond
1991 n/a
1992 n/a
1993 n/a
1994 Fergal O'Brien
1995 Tai Pichit
1996 n/a
1997 n/a
1998 n/a
1999 Marco Fu
2000 n/a
2001 Shaun Murphy
2002 Ryan Day
2003 n/a
2004 Stephen Maguire
2005 Ding Junhui
2006 Michael White
2007 Jamie Cope
2008 Liang Wenbo

back to top

Achievement of the Year
Year Winner
1987 Joe Johnson Reaching second successive World Championship final.
1988 Steve James For his Performance in the World Championship
1989 n/a
1990 n/a
1991 n/a
1992 n/a
1993 n/a
1994 n/a
1995 Stephen Hendry Seven century breaks in World Championship final.
1996 Nigel Bond Winning British Open final after needing a snooker
1997 Ken Doherty Winning Embassy World Championship
1998 Mark J. Williams Recovering from 0-6 to win Masters final on re-spotted black
1999 Stephen Hendry Winning seventh World Championship
2000 Joe Swail Run to World Championship semi finals
2001 Paul Hunter Winning Masters from 3-7 behind
2002 Peter Ebdon Winning Embassy World Championship
2003 Ken Doherty Winning World Championship semi final over Paul Hunter
2004 Jimmy White First ranking title for eleven years
2005 Shaun Murphy Winning Embassy World Championship
2006 Graeme Dott Winning 888.com World Championship
2007 Andrew Higginson Run to Welsh Open final.
2008 Mark Selby Winning Masters at his first attempt
back to top

Special Award
Year Winner
1984 Mike Green n/a
1985 n/a n/a
1986 n/a n/a
1987 Jackie Rae 40 years professional career
1988 Fred Davis OBE Still playing professional snooker at 75
1989 Nick Hunter Producer of snooker coverage for the BBC
1990 n/a n/a
1991 n/a n/a
1992 n/a n/a
1993 n/a n/a
1994 n/a n/a
1995 John Higgins Winning three ranking titles in season
1996 Ted Lowe Long serveing BBC commentator
1997 Mark Wildman Services to billiards
1998 Jimmy White Defeat of Stephen Hendry in World Championship
1999 n/a n/a
2000 Steve Davis 20 years in top sixteen
2001 John Dee Snooker journalist
2002 n/a n/a
2003 n/a n/a
2004 Peter Dyke World Promotions
2005 John Spencer Player, administrator and commentator
2006 Richard Balani Promoting snooker events in Malta
2007 Clive Everton Journalist and commentator
2008 Barry Hearn 30 years service to snooker as manager and promoter.

back to top

Services to Snooker

Year Winner
1983 Mike Watterson Promoter and player
1984 Clive Everton Journalist and commentator
1985 Del Simmonds Administrator
1986 Rex Williams Player and administrator
1987 Barry Hearn Manager and promoter
1988 Howard Kruger Manager
1989 n/a n/a
1990 John Spencer Player and administrator
1991 n/a n/a
1992 n/a n/a
1993 n/a n/a
1994 Ray Reardon MBE Player
1995 n/a n/a
1996 Rick Waumsley BBC snooker coverage
1997 n/a n/a
1998 Jinathan Martin BBC Sport controller
1999 JUim Elkins Tournament Director - Benson & Hedges Masters
2000 David Vine & Len Ganley BBC snooker presenter; referee
2001 n/a n/a
2002 John Williams Referee


back to top

World Snooker Player of the Year Awards

In 2011 World Snooker initiated its own Player of the Year Awards. As well as their own choice there were awards for the player chosen by Snooker Journalists, the Fans, the Players, and other awards for the Performace of the Year, Rookie of the years and Magic Moment.

Year WS Player Journalists Fans Players Performance Rookie Magic Moment
2011 John Higgins John Higgins Judd Trump Mark J. Williams Judd Trump Jack Lisowski Rory McLeod

© Chris Turner 2011